Alabama State FOP

Past Presidents

T.J. Phillips
T.J. PhillipsPast President 2011-2016
Brother Phillips started his law enforcement career in 1985 with Dothan Police Department and retired in 2012. He have been an active member of the Fraternal Order of Police since 1985. He served as local lodge president from 1991 to 2003, was selected local lodge member of the year in 2005 and was selected as Alabama State Member of the year in 2005. He has served as Member of the Year Committee chairperson and the Vest Committee chairperson. Brother Phillips was elected Sergeant of Arms with the State Lodge in 2003 to 2006, 2nd Vice President 2006-2008, Vice President 2008-2011, and State President 2011-2016 and has been an active Past President since 2018. He also served on Membership Recruitment and Retention – Southeast District with the Grand Lodge from 2011-2015.
John Samniego
John SamniegoPast State President 1997-2001
John Samniego served as President of the Alabama State FOP from 1997-2001. Beginning his law enforcement service over 40 years ago, after graduating from the University of Alabama, John worked for the Tuscaloosa Police Department where he dedicated more than 20 years to Narcotics Investigations before being promoted to Assistant Chief of Police of the Tuscaloosa Police Department. He first came to Shelby County as the Chief Deputy of the Sheriff’s Office in 2003, and he served in this capacity until he was elected to the office of Sheriff in 2014. In his 40+ years in law enforcement, over 25 years of this experience has been in supervisory and command-level roles. He was elected Sheriff of Shelby County in 2015 where he is currently serving.
Walter Crook
Walter CrookPast President 1986-1988
Brother Walter Crook is a 50 year member of the Alabama Fraternal Order of Police where he has served in a number of capacities during his tenure. He began his career with the Gulf Shores Police Department and moved to the Baldwin County Sheriff’s Department where he served as Sergeant and Investigator. He later moved to the Foley Police Department where he was hired as Chief Investigator before his retirement. He is a charter member of Baldwin County Lodge #43 and currently serves as Chaplain for Lodge 43. He was elected Alabama FOP Member of the Year in 1984 and again in 2017.
Barney Harding
Barney HardingPast President 1970-1972
Barney Harding joined the Alabama State FOP in 1969. He has served as Guard, Vice President and President while also serving on various committees. He was integral in establishing several Alabama lodges. He also served as legislative committee chairman, and the National By-laws committee chairman. He was active in lobbying efforts in the Alabama legislature as well as getting a Merit System Bill passed for free education for LEO families. Brother Harding served at the Huntsville Police Department, Scottsboro Police department, Fountail Correctional Center and Auburn Police Department.